Checked 2–3 September 2026 — every price, free tier and filter policy below was read from the product's own pricing or help page, app-store listing or GitHub repository on those dates.
The Best AI Dungeon Alternatives in 2026
"AI Dungeon alternative" is one search doing four different jobs. People leave for prose quality, for the content filter, for the memory, or because nothing they did ever mattered. Those are four different products. Picking off the wrong axis is why people bounce through five tools in a weekend.
Start here: which one are you?
| Why you're leaving | What you actually need | Where to look |
|---|---|---|
| "The writing is mush" | A model tuned on fiction, plus author control over style | NovelAI, DreamGen |
| "It stopped me mid-scene" | No hosted filter — usually means running it yourself | KoboldCpp + SillyTavern (local), DreamGen, NovelAI (18+, no moderation stated) |
| "It forgot my own character" | Explicit memory: lorebooks, memory slots, campaign state | NovelAI lorebook, RoleForge, LoreKeeper, Questsmith, AI Realm |
| "I want a proper D&D game master" | Rules, dice, combat, a party | Friends & Fables, AI Realm, RoleForge, DungeonsDeep |
| "Nothing I did had consequences" | A real engine under the AI — stats, resources, failure, death | A much smaller category. See below. |
| "I want an app on my phone" | A native iOS/Android app, not a web page | The apps section — AI Dungeon, Questsmith, FableAI, AI Game Master |
| "I just want to try something now" | Free, no sign-up | Perchance AI RPG |
What AI Dungeon itself is in 2026 (so you know what you're comparing against)
Latitude's game is not the 2021 version people remember leaving. The free Wanderer tier gives unlimited play on the smaller models — Wayfarer Small 2 (12B), Madness, Fable 8B, a DeepSeek flash model — with a 4,000-token context and 25 memory-bank entries, plus a trickle of daily premium actions. Paid tiers run $14.99, $29.99, $49.99 and $99.99 a month for 8k to 32k context and the large models. The content filter is now a Safe / Moderate / Mature toggle, mature off by default. It has native iOS and Android apps, both updated in late August 2026; the Steam version was retired in 2024. The loudest current complaints in its app-store reviews are memory drift on long stories and confusing credit pricing — the filter is no longer the top grievance. Latitude is also building a second platform, Voyage, in expanded beta with an open beta promised later in 2026.
The two families (this is the distinction most lists skip)
Almost everything marketed as an AI Dungeon alternative belongs to one of two families, and they are not competing for the same evening.
Chat-style roleplay. The language model is the game. It narrates, and it also decides what happened. This is enormously flexible and it is why the category exists — but it also means the model can be argued with. If you write "my strike lands and the sect elder falls," it very often does. Character.AI, NovelAI, DreamGen, WeavAI and most of the newer entrants live here.
System-driven AI RPG. A separate persistent engine holds the state — health, money, reputation, inventory, who remembers what you did, whether you are alive — and resolves outcomes. The model only narrates what the engine already decided. You cannot talk your way past a fight you shouldn't have started. This family is much smaller, and it is the one you want if your complaint was "nothing mattered."
The verified table
Monthly USD unless stated. "Not stated" means no policy on the product's own pages. Read 2–3 September 2026.
| Product | What it is | Free tier | Paid | Filter | Memory | App |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NovelAI | Fiction co-writer + anime image gen | One-time trial: 50 text generations, 30 images | Tablet $10 · Scroll $15 · Opus $25 (28,672-token context) | None stated; 18+ terms | Lorebook, Memory, Author's Note | Web only — the App Store "NovelAI" is a third-party lookalike |
| DreamGen | Long-form roleplay and story engine | Free plan, no card; daily credits (amount unconfirmed) | $7.83 (5k ctx) · $19.35 (15k) · $48.30 (30k) | Self-described unfiltered | Context per plan; scenario codex | Web |
| KoboldCpp + SillyTavern | Local model runner + roleplay front end | Free, open source (AGPL), no account | $0 — your hardware or API; ST suggests an NVIDIA card with 6 GB+ VRAM for local models | None | World Info lorebook, Author's Note, character cards | Win / Linux / macOS / Android via Termux |
| Perchance AI RPG | Community text-adventure generators | Free, no sign-up, ad-supported | — | Unconfirmed | Minimal | Web |
| RoleForge | AI game master with real dice and rulesets | Everything free during alpha; account required | Tiers planned, prices not set | Strict: explicit content prohibited, fade-to-black; family lock | Persistent world state, NPC memory | Browser; native apps on roadmap |
| LoreKeeper | AI GM for solo or up to six players | 20 turns/day, 1 campaign, no card | €9.99 · €19.99 | Not stated | Key facts 5–50 by tier; living wiki | Web (early-access beta) |
| Questsmith | Text RPG with d20, stats, memory slots | 10 actions/day, 10 memory slots, 5k context | $13 (60/day) · $26 (150/day) · $63 (400/day, 32k) | Not stated | Memory slots 10–300, auto-summary | Web, iOS, Android |
| AI Realm | D&D 5e-SRD chat GM, eight models, image gen | ~30 messages/day, no card | $7.99 · $14.99 · $24.99 · $49.99 (from a 2026 review; official pricing page unreachable) | Not stated | Player notes + automatic campaign summary | Web / PWA |
| Questner | AI GM text adventure (2026) | 40 messages + 7-day trial | $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr | Not stated | Memory and context; no lorebook stated | Web, add-to-home-screen |
| Friends & Fables | AI DM with 5e combat, up to six players | 25 turns/day | $19.95 · $29.95 · $39.95 | Private campaigns unmoderated except illegal content | Long-term memories on all tiers | Web; Discord bot discontinued |
| Hidden Door | Narrative RPG in licensed and user-built worlds | Unlimited turns, 5 worlds | Fan / Creator tiers (prices not displayed) | Per-world maturity levels | Persistent characters and items | Web |
| DungeonsDeep | AI dungeon crawler with grid combat | 75 free turns | $9.95 · $19.95 · $39.95 | Not stated | Unconfirmed | Web |
| Character.AI | Character chat, not adventure | Free with ads | c.ai+ $9.99 | Strict, no toggle; open-ended chat closed to under-18s since Nov 2025 | Limited; "enhanced" on c.ai+ | Web, iOS, Android |
| Blade RPG Death Challenge (ours) | Text cultivation roguelike over a real engine | 40 turns, no card, email-link sign-in | More turns only — no stats, items or revives sold | Hosted model | Engine state, cloud-saved run | Any browser, phone or desktop |
Two names you will see on other lists and can skip: SagaScope is a manuscript-structure tool that does not generate prose, so it is not an alternative to anything here; and WeavAI is a Traditional-Chinese-first anime roleplay platform (5,000 points on sign-up, 500 a day) with "clear content rules" by its own description — not the unfiltered option some roundups imply.
The alternatives, by what they're actually good at
NovelAI — if you left for the prose
Anlatan's subscription writing tool, with models trained on fiction and a lorebook that pins facts the model must not forget. Text generation is unlimited on every paid tier from $10; the $25 Opus tier gets the 28,672-token context and the newest models (a 355B-parameter finetune shipped in March 2026). No content moderation is stated and the terms require you to be 18. The free trial is one-time and small — 50 generations — which is the most common gripe. Strongest pick if what you missed was quality of sentences. It is a writing environment, not a game: there are no stats and nothing stops you.
DreamGen — if you left because of the filter
Runs open-weight models, describes itself as unfiltered, and prices by context window: $7.83 for 5k, $19.35 for 15k, $48.30 for 30k, with a free plan that needs no card. Same caveat as NovelAI: it's a generation tool, not a system.
KoboldCpp + SillyTavern — if you want total control
The free, self-hosted route, and the honest answer to "ai dungeon local alternative". KoboldCpp runs the model (still shipping — v1.120 landed 29 August 2026); SillyTavern is the roleplay front end with World Info lorebooks, Author's Note and character cards. You supply the hardware — SillyTavern suggests an NVIDIA 3000-series card with 6 GB or more of VRAM for local models, or you point it at a paid API instead. Nobody filters anything and nobody can change the terms on you. Everything else on this list is a product; this is a workshop.
Perchance AI RPG — if you want to try something in ten seconds
Free, browser, no account, ad-supported. Genuinely useful for finding out whether you like the format at all before paying for anything. Shallow by design — treat it as a demo of the genre, not a home.
RoleForge, LoreKeeper, Questsmith — if you left because of memory
A cluster of newer products whose pitch is campaign persistence: tracked characters, tracked plot state, long-running adventures that don't reset every few paragraphs. RoleForge is entirely free during its alpha and the strictest on content (explicit scenes fade to black). LoreKeeper gives 20 turns a day free and scales "key facts" from 5 to 50 by tier. Questsmith goes furthest toward stats, dice and companions, with memory slots from 10 free to 300 on the $63 plan, and has real iOS and Android apps. If your complaint was "it forgot my brother's name," start here.
AI Realm, Friends & Fables, DungeonsDeep — if you wanted a D&D table
AI Realm is a D&D 5e-SRD chat game master with a choice of eight models, about 30 free messages a day and paid tiers from $7.99; reviewers like the automatic campaign summaries and complain about memory drift and loose combat rules — which is exactly what people searching "AI Realm alternative" are trying to fix, and the next two are the usual answers. Friends & Fables runs proper 5e combat for up to six players, 25 turns a day free, $19.95 and up, with private campaigns left unmoderated. DungeonsDeep adds grid combat, 75 free turns then $9.95. All three are web-only.
Character.AI and the companion apps — a different product
Worth naming so you don't waste a weekend: Character.AI, Talkie, Candy AI and the rest are built around relationships with characters, not adventures with consequences. Character.AI's filter is strict with no toggle, and since November 2025 under-18s cannot use open-ended chat at all. They're excellent at the thing they do. If you arrived from AI Dungeon wanting a world, you will find them thin — a category mismatch, not a quality problem.
Apps like AI Dungeon on iOS and Android
Most of the serious alternatives above are websites. If you specifically want a native app, the store shelf in September 2026 looks like this: AI Dungeon itself (iOS 4.4 stars from about 27,000, Android 3.9 from 106,000); Questsmith (both stores, very new); FableAI (iOS 4.6, Android 4.3 from 6,400, 100K+ installs, free daily gems then $2.99–$33 packs); AI Game Master – Dungeon RPG (Android 4.6 from 14,700, 100K+); Tales RPG (Android 4.3, rated Mature 17+); AdventureAI (five free messages, then $4.99 a week or $89.99 lifetime — and not updated since June 2025); and Mythx ($3.99 a week or $9.99 a month). Character.AI has both apps but is chat, not adventure. Everything else — NovelAI, DreamGen, RoleForge, LoreKeeper, Questner, AI Realm, Friends & Fables, Hidden Door, and ours — runs in a phone browser instead, which for a text game is not much of a sacrifice.
Blade RPG (ours) — if you left because nothing mattered
Browser, text-only, free to start. The AI narrates; a separate engine holds the state and decides outcomes. Your spirit root and four innate attributes are rolled once at character creation and locked for the rest of that life. Money is finite, injuries persist, NPCs remember what you did to them — and when you die, the run is over. No reload, no respawn, no revive for sale. Sign-in is a one-click email link: no password, no card.
That last part is the whole point and also the whole risk: it is the only entry on this list where you can permanently lose forty hours of story to one bad decision. Some people find that this is finally the thing that made an AI story feel real. Others find it infuriating. Forty free turns is enough to find out which you are →
Numbers worth quoting
- 16 products verified against their own pricing, help or store pages on 2–3 September 2026.
- Free with no account at all: 2 (Perchance; KoboldCpp + SillyTavern). Free with an account: AI Dungeon's Wanderer tier, RoleForge (alpha), LoreKeeper, Questsmith, AI Realm, Friends & Fables, Hidden Door, DreamGen, Blade RPG.
- Native iOS + Android apps: 8 — AI Dungeon, Character.AI, Questsmith, Mythx, FableAI, AI Game Master, Tales RPG, AdventureAI. NovelAI's App Store namesake is not Anlatan's.
- No content filter by default: KoboldCpp + SillyTavern, NovelAI (18+ terms), DreamGen, Friends & Fables private campaigns. Strict with no toggle: Character.AI, RoleForge.
- AI Dungeon 2026: free tier with unlimited small-model play; paid $14.99 to $99.99; context 4k to 32k; Safe / Moderate / Mature toggle.
- Blade RPG's Death Challenge: 45 cultivation ranks, spirit root and four attributes locked at creation, 40 turns free, permanent death.
Sources: help.aidungeon.com, docs.novelai.net, v2.dreamgen.com/pricing, roleforge.ai, lore-keeper.com, thequestsmith.com, fables.gg/pricing, hiddendoor.co/pricing, GitHub (KoboldCpp, SillyTavern), US App Store and Google Play listings — read 2–3 September 2026.
When not to pick ours
- You want to write a novel. Go to NovelAI. We will keep interrupting your prose with a fight you're losing.
- You want a companion. Character.AI and the companion apps do that properly. Our NPCs will rob you.
- You want unfiltered content. We run a hosted model. If that's the dealbreaker, self-host with KoboldCpp and SillyTavern.
- You want a D&D party. Friends & Fables and AI Realm run 5e for six people. We run one cultivator, alone.
- You want to play as a Warhammer space marine. The English edition is cultivation only — one setting, deeply implemented, rather than "any world you can type."
- You cannot tolerate losing progress. Permadeath means permadeath. This is not a difficulty setting.
Frequently asked
What is the best AI Dungeon alternative?
It depends entirely on why you're leaving — see the table at the top. Prose → NovelAI. Filter → DreamGen or self-hosted. Memory → RoleForge, LoreKeeper, Questsmith, AI Realm. A D&D table → Friends & Fables. Consequences → a system-driven game, of which there are very few.
Is there a free AI Dungeon alternative?
AI Dungeon's own free tier is real and unlimited on small models. Perchance is free with no sign-up. KoboldCpp plus SillyTavern is free if you own the hardware. RoleForge is free in alpha; LoreKeeper, Questsmith and AI Realm have daily free allowances; ours gives 40 turns free with no card.
Which ones have a phone app?
AI Dungeon, Character.AI, Questsmith, Mythx, FableAI, AI Game Master, Tales RPG, AdventureAI. The rest run in a mobile browser. See the apps section.
Which have no filter?
Local KoboldCpp + SillyTavern has none. NovelAI states no moderation and requires 18+. DreamGen calls itself unfiltered. Friends & Fables leaves private campaigns alone. AI Dungeon is a toggle; Character.AI and RoleForge are strict.
Why do people stop using AI Dungeon?
In 2026 the loudest complaints are memory drift on long stories and confusing credit pricing; the filter is now a toggle and complained about less. The quieter reason is that nothing is ever enforced — the AI agrees you won because you said you won, which removes the stakes.
Do any of these have a real game system, not just chat?
A few move toward it: Questsmith with stats and dice, AI Realm and Friends & Fables with 5e rules, DungeonsDeep with grid combat. Ours puts a persistent engine underneath and lets it overrule the narration, which is why death in it is permanent. Everything else on this list is, structurally, a very good writing tool.
Left because nothing mattered?
One life. Real death. 40 turns free, no card, no download.
Related: AI Dungeon vs NovelAI vs Character.AI vs Blade RPG, side by side · text-based RPGs beyond the AI ones · what AI text RPGs still can't do · running it yourself in ChatGPT · text-based cultivation games